Rahm incurs penalty stroke for stepping on ball

0 Shares

ST. LOUIS (Reuters) – Spaniard Jon Rahm incurred an one-stroke penalty when he trod on his ball during the second round of the PGA Championship on Friday. Rahm was searching for the ball in thick rough on his 17th hole, the par-five eighth, when the transgression occurred. He called for a rules official and informed him of what had happened. With the rules stating that a one-stroke penalty will be incurred if a player or his caddie steps on the ball, Rahm had no choice but to accept the penalty. Rahm went on to par the hole and shot a 67 for a five-under 135 halfway total that left him five strokes behind leader Gary Woodland. The world number seven burst onto the professional scene two years ago and has already racked up five victories — three on the European Tour and two on the PGA Tour. Although tipped as a future major champion, he has struggled to produce his best form at golf’s four big events. A fourth place showing at this year’s Masters has been his best effort. The 23-year-old missed the cut at this year’s U.S. and British Opens.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.